Police Commission

Police Vehicles
The Board of Police Commissioners consists of five (5) citizens who are residents of the City, three of whom shall constitute a quorum. The appointments to the police and fire commission will be made in full compliance with Section 62.13(1), Wisconsin Statutes.

Duties of the Police Commission
The Board appoints the Chief of Police, who then appoints subordinates subject to approval by the Board.  The Board evaluates internal candidates for promotion, and maintains a list of eligible candidates with examination-based qualifications.
The Board adopts and may repeal or modify, rules calculated to secure the best service in these departments. These rules shall provide for examination of physical and educational qualifications and experience, and may provide such competitive examinations as the board shall determine and for the classification of positions with special examination for each class.  The Board shall have such other powers as provided in Section 62.13 of Wisconsin Statutes, with the exception of the optional powers provided in Section 62.13(6).

Staff Contact

  1. Aaron-Oppenheimer

    Aaron Oppenheimer

    City Administrator

    City Hall
    300 E. Main St.
    2nd Floor
    Sun Prairie, WI 53590

    Ph: 608-825-1193
    Fx: 608-825-1183


    Monday - Friday
    8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

    Staff Directory